No book for you!

Standard

(I don’t know why, but while trying to fall asleep, this post came almost fully-formed into my head.)

 As a reader/ librarian’s daughter/someone who believes in, you know, personal decisions,  I do not look too kindly upon those who would ban books. And, often, the books that come under objection are ones that most of us would see as completely innocuous. I can just imagine (cue dream sequence music):

Innocuous book: “The Tale of Peter Rabbit”

Imaginary book-banner: “Rabbits who can speak?! Clearly they’ve made a deal with the devil!”

 

Innocuous book: “Goodnight, Moon”

Imaginary book-banner: “Saying goodnight to the moon? Obviously a pagan ritual.”

 

Innocuous book: “The Cat in the Hat”

Imaginary book-banner: “Duh. Everyone knows cats are in league with witches.”

 

Looking at some of the books on this list of the 100 Most-Frequently Challenged Books from 1990-2000, though, I’m not sure how far-fetched my jokey scenarios are. I’ve read many of these books (my beloved “A Wrinkle in Time” is included), most of them when I was a child, and at least so far, there have been no ill effects.

 

Feel free (freedom is good!) to share your thoughts/add satirical excoriations of unobjectionable books.

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I’m refusing to take on an original title since you beat me to Goodnight Moon, my son’s favorite when he was young.

    But it should be banned…what is the bunny’s relationship with the old lady whispering hush, and why is she insisting on keeping him quiet?

  2. But why stop at books?? Let’s move on to characters. What better place to start??
    Disney!

    Minnie, Mickey, Donald, Goofy and the rest of the gang walk around hugging little boys and girls all day. And they do it with the blessing of parents. As my daughter says, they don’t even have tongues. That’s because their “evil” owner removed them so they couldn’t give away the location of his castle.

    Fun post!

    Bring Back Pluto
    “ONE of THE GUYS”

Leave a Reply

