Concise book reviews No. 5 and No. 6: “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” and “Revenge of the Spellmans”

Standard

 “Guernsey,”  written by Mary Ann Shaffer and her niece Annie Barrows, is an epistolary novel (in the form of letters) about Juliet Ashton, a writer, and her communications with the citizens of Guernsey, a island in the English Channel. Though the story takes place just after World War II, the tone is– for the most part– light and pleasant. I felt the ending was a bit abrupt, though.

“Revenge of the Spellmans,” by Lisa Lutz, is the third in a series of humorous mysteries focusing on Isabel Spellman, P.I., and her family. It was an enjoyable read, as all the books have been, but I thought “Curse of the Spellmans,” the second book, was funnier and had a better mystery. 

 

One response »

  1. I’ve been looking forward to reading “Guernsey..”. It’s been “out” at the library forever (must be a good read)..Now, after reading your short review, I’m rethinking a bit. I’ll still read it; however, the thought of an “abrupt ending,” gives me pause. I guess, I’m always looking for a happy ending, or at least a conclusive one.

    Thanks, for highlighting this book.

    `x~William.

Leave a Reply

