Words I could live without

Standard

I love words. Love weaving them into sentences, love crosswords and other such puzzles. But I could live without seeing or hearing these words again:

~bromance

~cougar (and I don’t mean the animal)

~tweens (especially in reference to Sasha Obama. She’s seven–a little girl!)

 

Feel free to add words you could live without in the comments, and also check out:

Words I could live without: the exciting sequel (Now with a bonus phrase!)

Words (and a phrase) I could live without: now it’s a trilogy!

//

8 responses »

  1. I completely agree with all of these words. They are truly, “whack”.

    Other words I’d like to see disappear from people’s vocabulary are…
    -whack =)
    -got (as used in the phrase, “got milk”, honestly this is just getting annoying with all the uses of this crappy phrase)
    -bomb

    I’m sure there are more, but for the life of me, I can’t remember them…and that’s a good thing.

  2. I could live a full and happy life without ever again hearing or reading about someone in harm’s way. Why can’t people just be in danger instead, or if you need an extra syllable, in jeopardy?

  3. If I could whack people with frying pans for starting sentences with “Being that…” I would.

    Instead I just growl in the margins of their papers

  4. “pretentious” is becoming overused in the college scene with the emmergence of hippster culture.

  5. This isn’t even a word, but I cringe every time I hear someone say “DUH.” When I hear someone say “DUH,” I hear them saying, “You’re stupid.” What a horrible thing for people to say to each other! I write daily articles to try to uplift and encourage people because we are all being bombarded with negative messages every day, and someone can be quickly torn down with just a monosyllabic “DUH.”

Leave a Reply

